Gaming: Ways to Reward the Brain

As I watched Tom Chatfield’s discussion about gaming on Ted Talks, I couldn’t help but think of my own children. My children are ages seven and ten, and they fell in love with gaming as soon as they were able to play. I found myself limiting their minutes because frankly, they would have a hard time putting their devices down long enough to socialize and live in the real world.

Why is this? Why do children and adults find so much gratification in the gaming world? Tom Chatfield’s talk was very interesting and I have learned a little about the drive for digital gaming and how it relates to my family.

I immediately think about the gratification my children receive in progressing though a stage or world. They have dismissed games very quickly if they were too frustrating or boring and stuck with games that progressed and remained interesting. They enjoy the games that have increased satisfaction and decreased frustration or annoyance.

It’s amazing to think of the science that goes into the gaming world. Not just the computer science skills, but the psychology and study of human behavior. The creators of digital games have definitely figured out the needs and wants of my children and have them coming back for more!

Resources:
http://www.ted.com/talks/tom_chatfield_7_ways_games_reward_the_brain.html

Leave a Reply

